August 2009 Recap

31 Aug

August!? Already!? I have no idea where the summer time has gone.

Current Book(s):
Finished in August- Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris; Lover Eternal, JR Ward; Chocolat, Joanne Harris; Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris
Started: The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles, Haruki Murakami;  Girl with No Shadow, Joanne Harris

Current Music:
I’ve been listening to a lot of mixed CDs this month and each CD has a combo of hip-hop, alternative, relaxed music (Ben Harper/John Mayer) and a miscellaneous category that I don’t really know how to define but that rocks my socks off on my way to work each morning

Current Shame-Inducing Guilty Pleasure:
Pinwheel cookies. (Downside to living at home: my parents buy all the goodies I loved growing up and Pinwheels are one of those things.)

Current Colors:
A bright maroon and not-quite-teal-blue

Current Obsessions:
Reading anything I can get my hands on
Gilmore Girls (started it over from the beginning)
Buying books
Wandering through the Twilight section at Borders just to see what new things they have come up with to sell

Current Drink:
Water, water, more water. Haven’t had a caffeinated soda in over 10 days!

Current Songs:
Three More Days, Ray LaMontagne

Current Movie:
Julie & Julia. Pretty awesome movie. Meryl Streep as Julia Child is perfection.

Current TV Show:
True Blood. Only one episodes left!

Current Wish-List:
Unrealistic: a trip to the beach; a new laptop for my birthday
Realistic: Massage! Facial!

Current Needs:
Unrealistic: more hours in the day; an office assistant
Realistic: Take better care of myself this month

Current Triumph(s):
I have my finances in order and it’s an awesome feeling. So blessed to be able to save money right now.

Current Bane(s) of my Existence:
45 minute commute, one way
26th birthday in 4 weeks and 1 day

Current Goal(s):
Continue to write more cards/notes for friends & family
Finish two or three books this month and stay on track for the Japanese Reading Challenge

Current Indulgence:

Mint chocolate chip ice cream (in moderation)

Current Blessing:
Irish. Family. Jack. Friends. A comfortable bed to lay my head on each night and unconditional love from many people in my life.  

Current Slang or Saying:
I’ve been dropping the F-bomb a bit lately at work (to myself, of course) as it’s been a tad stressful

Current (Fav) Outfit:
I bought this awesome top from The Limited the other day; it’s probably my favorite even though I haven’t worn it out yet.

Current Excitement:
Irish & I are going to visit my brother next weekend to celebrate his 21st birthday (which is on Tuesday, 9/1!)
26th birthday in 4 weeks and 1 day
Entertaining a possible trip to Florida for Thanksgiving

Current Mood:
Fatigued

22 Responses to “August 2009 Recap”

  1. Lauren From Texas August 31, 2009 at 7:57 am #

    love the idea of doing these once a month – i think I’ll start that tradition over at LaurenFromTexas ;)

  2. mandy August 31, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    I love the Gilmore Girls and mint chocolate chip ice cream. =) I too, thought that Meryl Streep was awesome in Julie & Julia. I really enjoy these monthly wrap-ups.

  3. Lisa August 31, 2009 at 8:24 am #

    I love these re-caps. Would you mind if I borrow it & did in on my blog? I would of course credit you for it!!

    And yah, last week my new goal was to get through the day w/out dropping the f-bomb when talking to my co-worker! I have been having the worst couple of weeks at work!!

    You have read so much this month! Good for you! I was in a bit of a slump this summer, but am picking up my pace again so Sept should be a better reading month for me!

  4. Doniree August 31, 2009 at 8:29 am #

    I seriously can’t believe how fast this month (this summer?! this year?!?!) went! Sounds like yours has been crazy busy!

  5. Margarita August 31, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    Incredible month recap! You’re so lucky to be saving money right now, it’s so hard to even put a bit away. This month seems to have flown by, and I bet you can’t wait til your birthday ;)

  6. Kyla Roma August 31, 2009 at 8:46 am #

    45 Mins each way? Oh wow, lady. You’re a trooper.

    Glad you’ve had some time to read- and I hope that things slow down for you in the fall! It sounds like you’re running to keep up!

  7. longredcape August 31, 2009 at 9:15 am #

    Is your birthday October 2nd? My 26th birthday is October 1st!

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair August 31, 2009 at 9:36 am #

    Everytime I go home there are so many lovely treats around the house I just can’t resist! It’s not good!

  9. Kathleen August 31, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    I saw your comment on Lauren from Texas’s post, and I just LOVE these recaps! I’m starting my own today. :)

  10. Andhari August 31, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    Yayyy you watch True Blood too, I like it a lot but the episode where Godric met the sun made me cry badly though. I like Godric, I suppose you’re into Eric? Usually a lot of people do, no one really tells me they like Bill the most.

    True Blood made me really geeky LOL.

    Anyhoo, I’m also into Gilmore Girls and mixed CD’s. :)

  11. mel August 31, 2009 at 5:38 pm #

    my relaxed music right now? Matt Nathanson…

    and i too am trying to give up soda! keep up the good work!

  12. katelin August 31, 2009 at 5:41 pm #

    oh how did you like chocolat? i bought the sequel and i’m curious to see where it goes from there.

  13. Erin August 31, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    We are just about to finish season 7 of the Gilmore Girls…and then we’ll start right over at the beginning again. We’ve been watching at least one episode of the Gilmore Girls every night at bedtime for years.

    The current bane of my existence is that ALL of the roads that lead from my house to school are closed or under construction. I can’t get to work!

  14. AuburnKat August 31, 2009 at 7:23 pm #

    I LOVE pinwheels! My grandparents always had them when I was growing up.

    Hope you have fun tomorrow on your brother’s 21st bday!

  15. Little Fish August 31, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    Pinwheels…mmmm…

  16. E.P. August 31, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    It makes me so happy that you’re reading the Sookie Stackhouse series. I’m really excited to hear what you think of them as you get farther into them!

    And I love lists like this! It’s hard to believe that August is over!

  17. oh August 31, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

    Do you think this reading mania in which we’re caught up is a sign that Fall/Winter approaches? You know, curl up with a book…and a blanket…?

  18. Margarita September 1, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    I also have an award for you :

    http://www.fabbrunette.com/2009/09/over-the-top.html

  19. Megan/SomewhatVoluble September 1, 2009 at 8:41 am #

    My sister is 19 on Sept 1 (well, today now).

    Ah, I love Gilmore Girls.

  20. Chandu September 1, 2009 at 11:53 pm #

    (Possible) trip to FL would solve your (unrealistic) trip to the beach desires. Mint choc. chip and pinwheels available upon arrival. Family and friends welcome. Unconditional love a given. Make the magic happen in SWFL. Chandu

  21. ria September 2, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    i would also like more hours in the say and to say goodbye to my 45minute commute each way!

  22. Little Miss Obsessive September 2, 2009 at 8:53 am #

    Can you beleive that August is over already!? The SUMMER is practically over! Ah… So I started watching True Blood and I am totally addicted. My new favorite show right behind LOST :) I’m gonna be Sookie for Halloween!! I’m so excited heh. And I just bought Dead until Dark also.

    Miss ya girlie!

Leave a comment