Nora’s Top Ten

30 Sep

Thanks again to everyone who helped make my 26th Birthday a special one. All the facebook notes, tweets, texts and comments brought many smiles to my face!

Nora’s Top Ten Signs Fall is officially here:

1. I want to go garage saling. There is something about waking up at the pre-crack of dawn, putting on my favorite worn-in jeans and sweatshirt and wandering around other people’s yards and garages for a few hours. The hot chocolate in my hands doesn’t hurt either.

2. I make sure my Netflix queue is in good order. I know, it sounds silly but sometimes the rainy days of fall aren’t good for much else than watching all the movies I seem to have missed lately.

3. I love being outside. Yes, I love summer days by the pool but fall evenings are even better. It has something to do with the crisp chill of the air and the sounds of leaves crunching underneath my feet.

4. I have my car windows down and the heater on… at the same time. Inefficient? Maybe but it’s the only way to thoroughly enjoy the ride home.

5. I’m ready for my comfort foods: Taco Soup. Candy Corn. Homemade baked goods. Italian dishes with a fresh spin on them.

6. My brainwaves often drift over to thoughts about Thanksgiving and Christmas which suddenly seem right around the corner.

7. I want to hibernate. When my alarm goes off at 6:25 each morning, well, I’m not a happy camper. The last few days I’ve been hitting snooze at least twice.

8. I can’t wear flip-flops anymore without my feet freezing which also means that slippers and fuzzy socks are my choice evening footwear.

9. Nights snuggling on the couch are preferable to many of the other evening options that may be available to me.

10. I make a stack of books I want to read and quietly challenge myself to finish as many of them as possible. The stack is currently out of control but if I can fit in three to four books between now and Christmas, I’ll be pleased.

I know many of you have posted about what you LOVE about fall, but what is a definite sign for you that fall (or a change in seasons, depending on where you live) has occurred?

14 Responses to “Nora’s Top Ten”

  1. Habbala September 30, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    It’s ALL about wanting grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup!!!

  2. mandy September 30, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    Fall is when I get back into baking and cooking. I made soup last night and cannot wait to try some of the other fall dishes I have recipes for. I do the same thing with books and reading. I can feel myself slipping into hibernation mode as well.

  3. SoMi's Nilsa September 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    Love your list, though that shouldn’t be any big surprise. It’s a sure sign fall has come when I’m wearing my fleece jacket and pants to walk the dog in the morning. (BTW, just broke out the fuzzy slippers this week – love ’em!)

  4. Megan/SomewhatVoluble September 30, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

    This post makes me excited, haha! Comfort foods are a must (I had chili last night!)… and it’s so exciting that Thanksgiving and Christmas are just around the corner!

  5. Erin September 30, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    I know it’s fall when I can’t wear sandals anymore without my toes going numb, when I wake up to frost on the grass, and when I start craving apple cider like it’s going out of style!

  6. Becky September 30, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

    Haha, I definitely do the cool air and heat at the same time in the car as well!

  7. oh September 30, 2009 at 9:12 pm #

    It’s the pool cover, the stinking pool cover that tells me Fall is here. Ugh. I miss my view of the sparkling blue pool when I look out the kitchen window. What? Can’t swim outdoors? pooh. Hello, Fall.

  8. oh September 30, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

    PS Hello to Habbala, above! I totally agree on the grilled cheese and tomato soup. (actually, I could eat that every other night year round and never tire of it!)

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 30, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    When it’s too cold for t-shirts and tank tops – I start layering with cardigans and scarves.

    When I start wearing my slippers around the house at night (I am right now).

    When it’s the perfect temperature so I don’t need to have the heat on in my house nor do I need to turn on the a/c!

  10. Lisa D September 30, 2009 at 10:44 pm #

    I know it’s fall when I can wear a jacket or a scarf without looking ridiculous. I do wear scarves and heavier jackets ocassionally on cool days in summer and I always got alot of grief for this from co-workers!

  11. sleepyjane October 1, 2009 at 3:03 am #

    Well, you know it’s Spring in SA. :) It’s the flowers. The smell of flowers everywhere is just too awesome.

  12. AuburnKat October 1, 2009 at 6:07 am #

    My stack of books to read is beyond out of control! I seriously need to stop buying them and start reading!

  13. ria October 5, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    fall makes me want to go to the apple orchard and cider mill and bake!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wanted: FALL « Walking through the Rain - October 13, 2009

    […] Mother Nature decided Fall didn’t need to make an appearance this year despite my compelling Top Ten List, because for the past week we’ve had the heat on, huddled under blankets, and enjoyed a warm […]

Leave a comment